ACPA Graduate Student Research and Writing Awards

The purpose of these awards is to honor the writing and research of students enrolled (and those who earned their degrees between March 2020 and August 2021) in graduate preparation programs in student affairs or higher education. The deadline for submissions is November 1, 2021, at 5pm EDT. Submissions can be entered through the electronic submission form. You can find the details of each award on the Commission for Professional Preparation website

There are four research and writing awards:

  • Burns B. Crookston Doctoral Research Award ($400)
  • Gerald Saddlemire Masters Research Award ($400)
  • Roberta Christie Essay Award ($200)
  • Nevitt Sanford Award ($400)

For questions about any of the awards, please contact any of the Commission for Professional Preparation Faculty Awards Coordinators, Reginald Blockett (, Conor McLaughlin (, or Rachel Smith (